June 27, 2009

28 Jun

Man, I didn’t take my own advice. Ten members of the club played from noon until 5:00 pm in 90 degree temperatures. I must have not drank enough water, my head was spinning at the end and I fell asleep as soon as I got home. It was still a great day for petanque. One game that I was involved in was particularly competitive with Ziggy and Wesley being pitted against each other. I was on Wesley’s team, which won 13-11 on a final shot by Ziggy which bumped our boule (which was touching theirs) closer to the cochonet.

Here are the updated CPC Super Championship totals. The rankings are sorted by total points as highlighted in pink:

CPC SUPER CHAMPIONSHIP_20090627

It seems that the key to doing well is simply to show up and play. To demonstrate this point, here is the rankings as determined by number of games played. The difference between the two is not great:

CPC SUPER CHAMPIONSHIP_20090627_gamesplayed

I don’t know if we should try to make a ranking system that looks at your average instead? It seems like that doesn’t encourage participation as the more you play, the more likely your average is to decrease or remain unchanged. Any thoughts?

Leave a Reply

